FAQ

What is avoidable blindness?

According to the Vision2020 Action Plan by the World Health Organization, avoidable blindness is defined as blindness which could be either treated or prevented by known, cost-effective means. Although there are many other causes of vision loss, VISION 2020 seeks to address the main causes of avoidable blindness, in order to have the greatest possible impact on vision loss worldwide.

What are the most common eye diseases in Canada?

The four most common eye diseases causing blindness and partial sight in Canada are age-related macular degeneration (AMD), diabetic retinopathy, glaucoma and cataracts.

Refractive error (RE) occurs when a person’s vision is reduced because they need corrective lenses and do not have them or their current lenses need to be changed to give them clear vision. Refractive error is the most frequent yet most easily correctible source of vision loss in Canada.

Some 2.5 million Canadians have some form of cataract, one million live with AMD; and 500,000 live with diabetic retinopathy. Approximately 250,000 Canadians live with glaucoma, yet only half are aware they have the disease.

© Copyright 2011 Vision 2020 Canada

Foire aux questions

Qu'est-ce que la cécité évitable?

Le plan d'action Vision 2020 de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé définit la cécité évitable comme l'ensemble des cas de cécité qui pourraient être prévenus ou traités par des moyens connus et rentables. Bien qu'il existe de nombreuses autres causes en lien avec la perte de vision, VISION 2020 s’attaque aux principales causes de perte de vision évitable, afin d’avoir la plus vaste incidence possible sur l’ensemble des cas de perte de vision dans le monde.

Quelles sont les maladies oculaires les plus fréquentes au Canada?

Les quatre maladies qui causent le plus fréquemment la cécité ou la vision partielle au Canada sont la dégénérescence maculaire liée à l’âge (DMLA), la rétinopathie diabétique, le glaucome et les cataractes.

Le trouble de réfraction survient lorsque la vision d’une personne diminue parce que cette personne a besoin de verres correcteurs et qu’elle ne les possède pas ou que les verres correcteurs qu’elle possède doivent être changés pour lui permettre de bien voir. Le trouble de réfraction est la cause de perte de vision la plus fréquente, mais aussi la plus facile à corriger chez les Canadiens.

Deux millions et demi de Canadiens sont atteints de cataractes sous une forme ou une autre, un million de Canadiens vivent avec une DMLA et 500 000 Canadiens sont aux prises avec une rétinopathie diabétique. Près de 250 000 Canadiens sont par ailleurs atteints de glaucome, mais seulement la moitié d'entre eux le savent.

© Copyright 2011 Vision 2020 Canada